Farm Stand Dinner

I promised I would show you what I did with all that farm stand goodness and here it is:

Corn with black beans!  Okay, I’ll admit that I did mess this up because I wasn’t paying attention and sauteed the bell pepper with the onion.  Oops!  It still tasted great, but I USUALLY add the bell pepper the last few minutes of cooking so that it stays vibrant.  I do have an “official” hot corn salad that I LOVE and which I’ll post at a later date, but I also like to change it up and make it really simple sometimes like I did here.  Let’s face it, I just needed dinner to be FAST so I harnessed the power of leftovers and quick-cooking vegetables to make it happen.

The general idea is to saute a sweet onion and garlic in olive oil.  Add freshly shucked corn and the juice of a lime.  Cook on low for 10 minutes, mixing occasionally, and add a diced bell pepper if you like.  (Red, green, or whatever color you have handy.)  Cook for a few more minutes until the corn is tender to your taste.  Mix in a diced tomato or two if you like.  I love this kind of dish because you can add whatever you are the mood for, have on hand, or just plain works for you and/or your family.  A bit of salt, a bit of pepper if you like and you’re good to go.  Here I topped it with some leftover black beans from two nights before, a dollop of sour cream, and mixed it together before serving.  Corn = summer.

Sticking with my need dinner FAST theme, I seared my squash in a splash of olive oil and a couple of minced garlic cloves while my corn was cooking.  Then I sprinkled on a pinch or two of salt and big pinch of dried herbs (pick your favorite).

I served my farm stand bounty with the other half of my roast chicken from dinner the night before.  Including prep time… fifteen minutes and dinner was done.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes, Summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Farm Stand Dinner

  1. Diana Nichols says:

    Looks very good!

What's on your mind?

